1. K-State home
  2. »Research and Extension
  3. »West Plains
  4. »Agriculture
  5. »Crops

West Plains District


Finney County is the second largest County in land area in Kansas consisting of 1,302 square miles. Wheat, corn, and grain sorghum are the primary crops along with soybeans, sunflowers, alfalfa, and others.


Scott County has approximatly 460,338 acres in agriculture production; 79% of which is used as cropland. Primary crops grown in Scott County include: wheat for grain, corn for grain, sorghum for grain, corn for silage, and forages.

Crop Production Information

If you have questions concerning Alfalfa, Corn, Grain Sorghum, Soybean Wheat or Other Crops, go to the Crop Production Support website.

Efficient Crop Water Use in Kansas

Kansas Crop Improvement Association

Irrigated and Dryland Crop Budgets

Interactive Crop Basis Tool

K-State Agronomy E-Update

Precision Agriculture